ITIL – Understanding the Three Levels of ITIL Certification


ITIL has three levels of certification: Foundation, Practitioner and Manager. The Foundation Certificate is the entry-level certification, while the Manager Certificate is the highest level in ITIL accreditation. Here are the three certifications in greater detail:

Foundation Certificate – ITIL Foundation

This is the first level of certification, and the first step that an individual must take to start a career in ITIL. It is intended for those individual’s working in Information Technology Service Management. The foundation certificate allows people to understand and comprehend the terminology used in ITIL. It strengthens the individual’s basic knowledge about the ITIL Service Support and Service Delivery. The ITIL Foundation consists of twelve main areas, and these areas are divided between the Service Delivery and Service Support. In addition to this, it also covers ITIL philosophy.

The Foundation Certificate proves that the individual understand the basics of ITIL, and this includes the concepts, terminology and the relationships between the processes of the ITIL framework. The individual will also learn how to reduce costs, and, at the same time, improve the quality of the service. The Foundation Certificate paves the way for the next certifications: Practitioner’s Certificate and Manager’s Certificate.

Practitioner’s Certificate – ITIL Practitioner

This course is targeted at those individuals who have a responsibility in one or more processes of ITSM. The Practitioner’s Certificate acknowledges an individual’s expertise in a specific discipline of the Service Support or Service Delivery sets of the ITIL. It also includes customer and organization communication. The ITIL Practitioner’s Examination tests the individual’s capability of designing an ITIL process and implementing the activities that are associated with it.

Practitioner’s certificates are available in problem management, configuration management, financial management and capacity management. To apply for a Practitioner’s Certificate, an individual needs to have a Foundation Certificate, and also two to three years of experience in managing the ITIL process.

Manager’s Certificate – ITIL Service Management

This certification is targeted at experienced professionals. These individuals may be involved in management functions, like managers or consultants in ITSM. The Manager’s Certificate is especially useful for those people who are part of the ITIL implementation. The course covers the tactical and operational processes of the ITIL, and teaches the students how to set up and implement the ITIL processes in businesses and organizations.

To apply for a Manager’s Certificate, the individual needs to have a Foundation Certificate, as well as at least five years of management experience in the IT sector. There are a few courses which require that, the individual should have a Practitioner’s Certification as well. This certification will provide the student with the information and skills to implement the processes of the ITIL, successfully.

For any company or organization, it is important to have the right people, with the right knowledge and skills, to make the organization more efficient. Currently, only people, and not companies, can achieve an ITIL certification. There are a few companies which claim to be ITIL-compliant; however, the OGC does not recognize such companies.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: